Skip to content

Blog

Where to sell a Louis Vuitton bag in Mexico (October 2026)

Six options, what each one publishes and what it leaves out, no ranking.

You have a Louis Vuitton bag you no longer carry and you want cash for it without giving it away. In Mexico you can consign it with a shop, sell it outright to one that buys, or list it yourself on Mercado Libre. Each option publishes different terms. Several leave big gaps.

Below is what each page says, with a date, and what it leaves out. Everything comes from each company’s own page as reviewed on 9 October 2026. There is no ranking. What suits you depends on the price the bag sells for, how fast you need the money, and whether you can hand it over in person.

The six options, reviewed 9 October 2026

Each option links to the page its terms come from. Where it says “not stated on the page reviewed”, the company may have that rule but does not publish it there.

Vintalia

  • Model: consignment and outright purchase
  • Published commission: 15% of the sale on consignment; outright-purchase formula: not stated on the page reviewed
  • Published payout: immediate on outright purchase; consignment: not stated on the page reviewed
  • Hand-over: in store or by WhatsApp for a quote; shipping: not stated on the page reviewed
  • Authentication it declares: “valoración profesional”; procedure: not stated on the page reviewed
  • Coverage: not stated on the page reviewed

Luxury Market México

  • Model: consignment
  • Published commission: 25% if it sells between MXN 1 and 25,000; 20% from MXN 25,001
  • Published payout: when it sells; days: not stated on the page reviewed
  • Hand-over: ship to its offices; cost: not stated on the page reviewed
  • Authentication it declares: internal inspection, with Entrupy as back-up when required
  • Coverage: receiving offices in Mexico City, Guadalajara and Monterrey; seller coverage beyond those cities: not stated on the page reviewed

Troquer

  • Model: consignment
  • Published commission: published example: at MXN 28,000 you keep 70%; the other tiers sit in an image that was not transcribed
  • Published payout: not stated on the page reviewed
  • Hand-over: online or in-person appointment; direct drop-off only for returning sellers; shipping: not stated on the page reviewed
  • Authentication it declares: curation, research and Entrupy, per its authentication page
  • Coverage: Casa Troquer and the Spot at Liverpool Insurgentes; shipping coverage: not stated on the page reviewed

Prevera

  • Model: consignment; outright purchase possible
  • Published commission: 20% of the final price, only if it sells; outright formula: not stated on the page reviewed
  • Published payout: 7 to 10 business days after the sale closes and payment is confirmed, per its selling page; its terms may set a different period; outright: not stated on the page reviewed
  • Hand-over: ship it in for review; entry cost: not stated on the page reviewed; return on rejection at your cost under the agreement; confirm the applicable payout and rejection terms in the written agreement
  • Authentication it declares: external services Entrupy, LegitGrails and LegitApp
  • Coverage: not stated on the page reviewed

Shopsell

  • Model: consignment, two months minimum
  • Published commission: not stated on the page reviewed; MXN 1,000 penalty for pulling out before two months
  • Published payout: within five business days of telling you it sold
  • Hand-over: appointment to bring the piece in; its FAQ also says sellers may ship the piece, with shipping terms not stated there
  • Authentication it declares: in-person check per its selling page; its FAQ also says it uses Entrupy with photos and optical readers
  • Coverage: not stated on the page reviewed

Mercado Libre

  • Model: marketplace, you list it
  • Published commission: Clásica 8 to 16%; Premium 12.5 to 20.5%, general bands; simulator estimates category fees, shipping and tax
  • Published payout: not stated on the page reviewed
  • Hand-over: Envíos en Mercado Libre anywhere in the country, if the listing qualifies; cost for a bag: not stated on the page reviewed
  • Authentication it declares: not stated on the page reviewed
  • Coverage: portal and national shipping

How each one charges

Three different ways to take a cut, and you should keep them apart.

Luxury Market charges on the sale price, not on the appraisal. From MXN 1 to 25,000 it keeps 25%. From MXN 25,001 it keeps 20%. A bag that sells at MXN 25,000 pays MXN 6,250 in commission. One that sells at MXN 25,001 pays about MXN 5,000. That cut-off can change the commission more than a small difference in the sale price.

Prevera charges 20% of the final price, and only if the piece sells. No sale, no commission.

Vintalia lists a 15% consignment commission and return after one unsold month. It does not publish a direct-purchase formula. What it offers if you would rather sell to it outright is not stated.

Troquer publishes one example in text. If it prices your piece at MXN 28,000, your share is 70%, which is MXN 19,600. The rest of the scale sits in an image and was not transcribed here.

Shopsell does not publish its commission on its selling page. It does publish a MXN 1,000 penalty if you pull the piece before two months.

On Clásica and Premium listings, Mercado Libre charges a percentage of the sale value, depending on category. Clásica runs 8 to 16% and Premium 12.5 to 20.5%. Those are general bands. Use the simulator to estimate category fees, shipping and tax for your bag.

When you get paid

Few of them publish a date.

Prevera’s selling page says it pays 7 to 10 business days after the sale closes and the buyer’s payment is confirmed. Its terms may set a different period. Ask which payout term governs the agreement. Shopsell’s selling page says it pays within five business days of telling you it sold. Luxury Market’s FAQ says you receive the agreed amount “al momento de su venta”, at the moment of sale, with no number of days. Vintalia promises immediate payment only on an outright purchase. For consignment it gives no timeline. Troquer and Mercado Libre state no timeline on the pages reviewed.

If the payment date matters to you, get it in writing before you hand over the bag. Not on the page does not mean it does not exist.

How you hand over the bag

Luxury Market asks sellers to send pieces to offices in Mexico City, Guadalajara or Monterrey. The page does not state from where sellers may ship. Shipping cost is not stated.

Troquer works by appointment, online or in person. Direct drop-off is for people who have sold with them before. It has Casa Troquer and a Spot inside Liverpool Insurgentes.

Shopsell asks for an appointment to bring the piece in. Vintalia quotes at its shop or over WhatsApp. Shopsell’s FAQ also says sellers may ship the piece; Vintalia’s reviewed page does not say whether it accepts shipments.

Prevera takes the piece by shipment for review. If it rejects the bag, the return shipping is on you under the agreement you sign. Read that before you send anything.

On Mercado Libre you sell and you ship. If the listing qualifies, you can use Envíos en Mercado Libre anywhere in the country. What shipping a bag costs is not stated on the pages reviewed.

What each one says about authentication

This section describes the method each company declares. It is not a judgment of how well it works.

Luxury Market, Troquer, Prevera and Shopsell mention Entrupy on a reviewed page. They describe different roles for it. Luxury Market describes an internal inspection with Entrupy as back-up when needed. Troquer describes curation, research and Entrupy. Prevera cites external services and names Entrupy, LegitGrails and LegitApp. Shopsell declares a physical check at the appointment on its selling page, and its FAQ says it uses Entrupy with photos and optical readers. Vintalia talks about professional valuation and does not describe a procedure. The Mercado Libre pages reviewed state no physical check of bags.

If you are unsure what weight an external report carries against a card or a box, that is covered in which documents prove a luxury bag is genuine and in external lab reports.

What moves the price, in the shops’ own words

Prevera spells it out. To accept a piece it looks at brand, model, condition, demand and resale potential. To price it, it weighs the model, the condition, the age, the accessories, demand and market references. Accessories are one pricing input, but the page gives no separate price premium for a box, card or receipt. It publishes no fixed premium for having them.

Troquer uses four wear categories. “Nuevo con etiqueta” (new with tag), “Nuevo sin etiqueta” (new without tag), “Estrenado un par de veces” (worn a couple of times) and “Usado con onda” (used, with character). One of those covers pieces with minor signs of use or maintenance.

Luxury Market uses “Estrénalo”, “Excelente”, “Muy buen estado” and “Buen estado”. Under “Muy buen estado” it mentions light wear, light scratches on hardware and a dirty interior. Under “Buen estado” it says it describes the visible wear in the listing and the photos. Luxury Market’s reviewed page does not quantify a price deduction for each mark.

The scales do not map onto each other. “Excelente” at one shop is not “Estrenado un par de veces” at another.

To place your bag against what the same line is listed at today, see used Louis Vuitton prices in Mexico by line.

What you still need to know before you sign

Of the six options, only Prevera publishes commission, the payment trigger and a timeline on the same page. The others leave at least one cell empty. Before you hand over the bag, ask in writing for what the page leaves out. Consignment period and return date if it does not sell. Who can lower the price. Who pays shipping each way. Who pays for an external check if they ask for one.

If you want us to take a look at yours, start at sell your bag.